Senate Confirms Appointment Of New Service Chiefs

Nigerian Senate on Thursday confirmed the appointments of the new Service Chiefs as requested by President Bola Tinubu.

The new Service Chiefs are Maj. Gen. Christopher Musa – Chief of Defence Staff, Maj. Gen. Tahoreed Lagbaja – Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla – Chief of Naval Staff, Air Vice Marshal Halidu Abubakar – Chief of Air Staff.

Thursday’s Confirmation of their appointments followed screening by senators in the Committee of the Whole which lasted for over two hours in a closed-door session.

The Service Chiefs on arrival, briefed the senate on the strategies they have in stock to tackle insecurity across the country.

Upon arrival in the Red Chamber, the Service Chiefs were given two minutes each to introduce themselves before the screening exercise went into closed session because of security reasons.

It would be recalled that President Tinubu had on Tuesday, July 9 asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of the new Service Chiefs.

He made the request in a letter dated July 5, 2023, and addressed to the President of the Senate, Senator Godswill Akpabio, which he read on the floor of the Senate Chamber.



Share using
If you like our work, you can buy us a coffee

Related Articles

Back to top button